Thank You

I checked the blog stats this morning – something I try not to do too regularly. I worry that if I know that I’m being read, I will self-censor.

This isn’t the first blog I’ve kept, but it’s the first time I’ve ever had people I didn’t know in real life coming, commenting, supporting. Mel, over at Stirrup Queens, referred quite a few of you, and you came. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised; I read the weekly roundup religiously, and I can’t be the only one who does.

I’m amazed at every kind word; at every virtual hug, I feel an intimate embrace. At every expression of sympathy, I feel lifted. With every piece of positive feedback, I feel healed and just a little bit validated. My sorrows, my thoughts, my contributions, have somehow made a tiny connection out there in The Great Big Internet. It’s a high I’ve never had cause to experience before, and I appreciate you all for making it happen, even if it’s only this once.

I find myself inspired to be a better member of the online community. I’ve adopted this new rule to govern my online life — if I have a positive comment to make, I should make it. If a blog post moves me, I shouldn’t leave without saying so. I go online to connect, and so I should do just that. You’ve inspired me to be better, and that is always a good thing.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Thank you for reading, thank you for commenting, thank you for taking a moment to endure with me. It is so much better than enduring alone.

Leave a reply

